Deemer + 1 – Aftermath

Release date: 4th June 2021 (CD and digital album – pre-orders from 24th May)

Tickets on sale for album launch live set on release day (online and in-person)

Deemer started life in 2006 as a weekly improvisation session in a warehouse in Hackney Wick. While Dee Byrne and Merijn Royaards put their acoustic drums and sax through various effects pedals and sample triggers at a loud volume, Merijn’s fellow warehouse dwellers watched TV, washed dishes and read books. A tolerant attitude that gave the duo the space to develop their edgy, searching sound. Over the years Deemer has incorporated found objects, reel to reel tape machines, suspended industrial metal plates and stacks of small TV monitors projecting sonic wave patterns. Merijn exchanged his drums for analogue drum machines and Dee shed effects pedals like old skins.

Today Deemer is a leaner, more pared-down version than its previous incarnations and has sought to extend its horizons in other ways, by collaborating with other improvising musicians. Their third album on Luminous sees them join forces with Manchester based improvising drummer Johnny Hunter. Dee has always been curious about working with acoustic drums in the context of this duo. When LUME was invited to curate a showcase on the Barbican Freestage for London Jazz Festival 2019, this seemed a good opportunity to try out the augmented duo with Johnny. Shortly after the performance, they went into the studio to record this album.

Aftermath was recorded in one long session at Viva Recorders studio, Islington in November 2019. Due to the subsequent lockdown, the material lay submerged in an external hard drive for over a year. After rescuing the file, Deemer proceeded to edit the session down to nine short tracks that reflect the scope of the trio’s collective musical journey that day.


Dee Byrne – alto saxophone/electronics
Merijn Royaards – electronics
Johnny Hunter – drums/percussion

Recorded by Tim Hamper at Viva Recorders studio, London on 19th November 2019.

Mixed and mastered by Deemer.
Artwork by Dee Byrne.

Luminous Label 2021 | LU014

Digital album available to pre-order now.

Deemer – Live At The Vortex

Release date: 1st December 2016 (cassette and digital album)

The second release by Deemer: a live set from the Vortex in 2015.


Dee Byrne – alto saxophone, electronics
Merijn Royaards – electronics

Recorded by Ali Ward at The Vortex, London, on 6th December 2015.
Mixed and Mastered by Merijn Royaards.

Design and printmaking by Cath Roberts.

Luminous Label 2016 | LU004

Cassette and digital album available now.

Deemer – Interference Patterns

Release date: 7th December 2015

Interference Patterns is the first album by Deemer, the long-running collaboration between Luminous co-founder Dee Byrne and sound artist Merijn Royaards. This is also the first studio album released on Luminous.


Dee Byrne – alto saxophone, electronics
Merijn Royaards – electronics

Recorded by Tom Ward at Jamestown Road, London on 28th November 2014.

Mixed and mastered by Rico Garafalo at The Downlight Studio in December 2014.

Design and printmaking by Cath Roberts.

Luminous Label 2015 | LU001

CD and digital album available now.